CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

lafe

Lou Ann Texeira

Executive Officer 1

651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor • Martinez, CA 94553-1229

e-mail: LTexe@lafco.cccounty.us

(925) 335-1094 • (925) 335-1031 FAX

MEMBERS

Donald A. Blubaugh *Public Member*

Federal Glover County Member

Michael R. McGill Special District Member Dwight Meadows Special District Member Mary N. Piepho County Member

> Rob Schroder City Member

Don TatzinCity Member

ALTERNATE MEMBERS

Candace Andersen
County Member

Sharon Burke Public Member

Tom Butt
City Member

George H. Schmidt Special District Member

August 13, 2014 Agenda Item 5

August 13, 2014 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor Martinez, CA 94553

Selection of Chair for 2014

Dear Members of the Commission:

DISCUSSION

In May 2014, Commissioner Dwight Meadows passed away. On July 21, 2014, the Independent Special District Selection Committee elected Igor Skaredoff to fill the regular special district vacancy created by the passing of Commissioner Meadows.

In January 2014, the Commission selected Commissioner Meadows to serve as Chair, and Commissioner Schroder to serve as Vice Chair. Since May 2014, Commissioner Schroder has chaired the LAFCO meetings.

The selection of officers for the Contra Costa LAFCO is described in Section 1.4 of the Commission Handbook, which provides as follows:

- The members of the Commission shall elect a Chair and Vice Chair at the first meeting of the Commission held in January of each year or as soon thereafter as practicable.
- The Chair and Vice Chair shall serve for one-year terms, or until their successors are elected, whichever occurs later.
- Officers shall be selected from the categories of members in the following order:

County Member 1 Public Member Special District Member 1 City Member 1 County Member 2 Special District Member 2 City Member 2

In accordance with Commission policies, the 2014 rotation provides that the Commission select a Special District member as Chair.

OPTIONS

The following options are presented for Commission consideration:

- 1. Appoint a Special District member to serve as Chair for the remainder of calendar year 2104;
- 2. Switch the order of the rotation for 2014 from "special district member" to "city member" or "county member" and appoint a new Chair for the remainder of calendar year 2104;
- 3. Authorize Commissioner Schroder to continue to Chair the LAFCO meetings until January 2015;
- 4. Defer the appointment of the Chair;
- 5. Other option as desired.

RECOMMENDATION

Consider the options presented.

Sincerely,

LOU ANN TEXEIRA EXECUTIVE OFFICER